The Three H’s by John Green

Names and faces

I don’t remember until

I see them return

Over and over again.

 

Twenty-three years of being

Without family and friends

Leaves desperation

In place of hope.

 

I don’t know what

Tomorrow leaves for me

But if it’s anything like

Yesterday, I’m lost.

 

But somehow I find a way

To maintain my humanity,

My humility, and my

Sense of humor.

 

They can’t take these three things

Regardless of their attempts

Or their viciousness—

 

Remember the three H’s

Humanity

Humility

And Humor.

 

Keep them safe and close,

Like your lives depend

Upon them,

Because they do…

 

John Green, 7/5/16.

Write to John:

John Green #671771

C.T. Terrell Unit

1300 FM 655

Rosharon, TX 77583

 

Leave a Reply

